The Cycling in Cities Research Program is a collection of research projects and initiatives investigating factors that encourage or discourage cycling in the Canadian context. The Cycling of Cities website was originally established in 2006 under care and leadership of UBC-based Drs. Kay Teschke, Mike Brauer and Meghan Winters together with a large group of researchers, partners & funders. Dr. Winters founded the CHATR lab in 2011 and continues to build on many of the original Cycling in Cities research topics and as such the information from the original Cycling in Cities webpage is now housed here. More details on Cycling in Cities can be accessed by clicking on the topic tiles below.


University of British Columbia
Kay Teschke
Mike Brauer
Shelina Babul
Evan Beaupré
Nicole Blakely
Chris Carlsten
Peter Cripton
Christie Cole
Jill Dalton
Larry Frank
Melissa Friesen
Christie Hurrell
Martin Kang
Diana Kao
Michael Koehle
Mieke Koehoorn
Melody Monro
Kishore Mulpuri
Melissa Nunes
Jason Potter
Conor Reynolds
Hui Shen
Catherine Steer
Jason Su
Amy Thai
Angie Weddell
Imelda Wong

Ryerson University
Anne Harris

Simon Fraser University
Meghan Winters
Suzanne Therrien
Moreno Zanotto
Kate Hosford
Nimesh Patel
Jenny Scott

University of Toronto
Mary Chipman
Michael Cusimano
Jessica Dennis
Vartouhi Jazmaji
Kevin McCurley
Andrew Thomas
Lee Vernich

University of Victoria
Eleanor Setton
Peter Keller

University of Western Ontario
Denver Nixon

University of Montreal
Daniel Fuller
Lise Gauvin
Yves Kestens

St. Paul’s (Barb Boychuk, Garth Hunte)
Vancouver General (
Jeff Brubacher, Jan Buchanan)
St. Michael’s (
Doug Chisholm, Nada Elfeki, Sean Marshall)
University Hospital Netw
ork (Steven Friedman)

Canadian Cancer Society
Richards Buell Sutton (
David Hay)
Smart Growth BC (
Cheeying Ho)
Toronto Coalition for Active Transportation-TCAT (
Nancy Smith Lea, Fred Sztabinski)
Vancouver Area Cycling Coalition-VACC (
Jack Becker)
Vancouver Bicycle Advisory Committee
(Bonnie Fenton, Mary Sherlock)

Local Government Agencies
Metro Vancouver
New Westminster
Port Moody
Township of Langley
White Rock

Research Funding Agencies
Health Canada
Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR)
Transport Canada MOST Program